Felix Rosenqvist completes positive first Verizon IndyCar Series test

Felix Rosenqvist, Ohio IndyCar 3

Felix Rosenqvist completed a strong first test in the Verizon IndyCar Series, America’s leading single-seater category, at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Ohio, USA, on Thursday.

Rosenqvist undertook driving duties for reigning series champions Chip Ganassi Racing, racking up 93 laps around the 3.6 km (2.2 mi) track as he became the first Swede in over ten years to drive a Verizon IndyCar Series machine.

The 24-year-old European Formula 3 champion ended the morning session, in which he took part before handing his car over to Chip Ganassi Racing regular Scott Dixon in the afternoon, just a couple of tenths off the ultimate pace, topping the times among the rookie drivers present.

”A very good day,” says Felix Rosenqvist. ”I went into this with an open mind, not quite sure what to expect, and it was incredible. So much fun. It’s a tough car to drive with a huge amount of downforce, but I got into it pretty quickly. I racked up a lot of laps, which was the main priority, and the pace being that competitive was a nice bonus. This was the most brutal car I’ve ever driven, and I’d like to really thank Chip Ganassi Racing for a truly tremendous experience.”

Rosenqvist’s advisor, ex-Formula 1 and IndyCar driver Stefan Johansson, was similarly pleased with the day at Mid-Ohio.

“Felix has done a great job today,” says Johansson. “He was quick, consistent, and didn’t make a single mistake; it really couldn’t have gone any better. He was also surprisingly fresh physically after the outing, which is not something you normally see from an IndyCar rookie. The engineers were happy with Felix’s attitude and the way he delivered, so I think he’s really got the message through.”

Among other drivers present at the test were a range of established Verizon IndyCar Series super stars, including current championship leader Simon Pagenaud (France), Will Power (Australia), Hélio Castroneves (Brazil) and former F1 racer and Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia).


Photo: Chris Owens/INDYCAR