Felix receives Royal Medallion


The Royal Swedish Automobile Club have today announced that Felix has been awarded the Royal Medallion of Motorprinsens medalj, one of the most prestigious accolades on offer within the Swedish motorsport society.

Felix receives the medallion on the back of his recent Formula 3 accomplishments, which include repeat Macau Grand Prix victories in 2014-2015 as well as the FIA Formula 3 European Championship title in 2015.

Motorprinsens medalj was inaugurated in 1975 to honour the importance of Prince Bertil of Sweden to Swedish motorsport. The award jury consists of representatives from organisations such as the Royal Swedish Automobile Club and Swedish ASN the SBF. The medal is made from gold.

Previous recipients include the likes of Björn Waldegård (1976-1977), Ronnie Peterson (1979), Stig Blomqvist (1983), Kenny Bräck (2000) and Mattias Ekström (2008).

The jury’s motivation:
”Felix Rosenqvist has got the sporting merits and, in an exceptionally successful career, has made the rise to become the world’s undisputed number one Formula 3 driver. It has been our great privilege to follow Felix Rosenqvist and his phenomenal achievements. He is the unchallenged star among the contingent of drivers currently forging a new golden era in Swedish motorsport. No one combines the will to win with humility and patience better than Felix Rosenqvist, who is consequently awarded Motorprinsens medalj.”

”It is a great honour to receive Motorprinsens medalj. The individuals who make up the list of previous recipients are true legends of Swedish motorsport. I would like to thank the jury for their kind words, and look forward to try and bring further wins and titles to Swedish motor racing in the future.”


Motorprinsens medalj – all recipients

1976 Björn Waldegård
1977 Björn Waldegård
1979 Ronnie Peterson (posthumous)
1981 Per-Inge Walfridsson
1982 Bertil Lundberg
1983 Stig Blomqvist
1986 Lennart Bohlin
1988 Lars V. Adén
1991 CG Hammarlund
1992 Lars Österlind
1993 Bertil Klarin
1996 Gunnar Palm
1999 Rickard Rydell
2000 Kenny Bräck
2002 Ove ”Påven” Andersson
2008 Mattias Ekström
2009 Kenneth Hansen
2010 Mats Eriksson
2012 Tina Thörner
2014 Felix Rosenqvist